Applications Open for Virginia Redistricting Commission Citizen Members

Must be received by Monday, December, 28, 2020

Applications to serve as a citizen member on the Virginia Redistricting Commission (the Commission) are open to Virginia residents from Monday, November 30 through Monday, December 28, 2020. The 16-member Commission, created following the passage of an amendment to the Constitution of Virginia in the 2020 general election, will consist of eight citizen members and eight legislative members who will be tasked with proposing plans for redrawing districts for the United States House of Representatives, the Senate of Virginia, and the House of Delegates.

Eligible applicants are required to have been Virginia residents and registered voters in Virginia for the past three years and to have voted in at least two of the last three general elections. Eligible applicants must not have held partisan or political office or other related employment. Virginia citizens are invited to apply for membership on the Commission regardless of education level, work experience, or socioeconomic status. The application for service on the Commission and additional information, including specific criteria for eligibility, are available on the <u>Division of Legislative Services'</u> <u>Redistricting website</u>.

The eight legislative members who will serve on the Commission have been selected by the majority and minority leadership of the House of Delegates and the Senate of Virginia as follows:

Appointed by Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn, Speaker of the House, Democrat: Delegate Delores L. McQuinn Delegate Marcus B. Simon

Appointed by Delegate C. Todd Gilbert, House Minority Leader, Republican: Delegate Les R. Adams Delegate Margaret B. Ransone

Appointed by Senator L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore of the Senate, Democrat: Senator George L. Barker Senator Mamie E. Locke

Appointed by Senator Thomas K. Norment, Jr., Senate Minority Leader, Republican: Senator Ryan T. McDougle Senator Stephen D. Newman

Speaker Filler-Corn, Delegate Gilbert, Senator Lucas, and Senator Norment will also make preliminary selections of candidates for citizen commissioners from the pool of eligible citizen applicants following the close of the application period. Each legislative leader will select at least sixteen candidates to present to the Redistricting Commission Selection Committee for consideration.

The final selection of citizen members will be made by the Redistricting Commission Selection Committee (the Selection Committee), composed of five retired judges from the circuit courts of Virginia:

The Honorable Pamela Baskervill, Chair The Honorable Joanne F. Alper The Honorable William C. Andrews III The Honorable Larry B. Kirksey The Honorable David Pugh The Selection Committee will make its final selection by choosing two citizen members from each of the four lists presented by the House and Senate legislative leaders. In making its determinations, the Selection Committee is required to ensure that the makeup of the Commission is representative of the racial, ethnic, geographic, and gender diversity of the Commonwealth.

The Selection Committee held its first meeting on November 25, 2020, to approve the application process. After the close of the application period and receipt of candidate lists from legislative leaders, the Selection Committee will convene again to conduct its review of applicants and notify candidates of their selection in January 2021.

Once citizen and legislative members are selected, the Virginia Redistricting Commission will hold its first public meeting by February 1, 2021. The Commission will begin its work to develop redistricting plans for proposal to the General Assembly upon receipt of 2020 census data.

Applications may be submitted by email to varedist@dls.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 698-1899, or mailed to the Division of Legislative Services, Attn: Selection Committee, 900 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219. Applications must be received by the Division of Legislative Services by Monday, December 28, 2020.

For more information, visit: redistricting.dls.virginia.gov.