## January 6, 2021

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## Eight Citizen Members Selected for Virginia Redistricting Commission

**Richmond, VA** — The eight citizen members who will serve on the Virginia Redistricting Commission (the Commission) were selected in a public meeting on Wednesday, January 6, 2021, of the Virginia Redistricting Selection Committee (the Selection Committee). The citizen members were selected from lists of candidates chosen from a pool of more than 1,200 applications and put forth by the majority and minority leadership of the House of Delegates and the Senate of Virginia. The eight citizen members selected are:

From the list of Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn, Speaker of the House, Democrat:

Greta J. Harris of Richmond Brandon Christopher Hutchins of Virginia Beach

From the list of Delegate C. Todd Gilbert, House Minority Leader, Republican: Mackenzie Babichenko of Mechanicsville Jose A. Feliciano, Jr., of Fredericksburg

From the list of Senator L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore of the Senate, Democrat: James Abrenio of Fairfax Sean S. Kumar of Alexandria

From the list of Senator Thomas K. Norment, Jr., Senate Minority Leader, Republican: Marvin W. Gilliam, Jr., of Bristol Richard O. Harrell III of South Boston

In accordance with a timeline set by statute, applications for citizen membership on the Commission were accepted from November 30, 2020, through December 28, 2020. Following the close of the application period, Speaker Filler-Corn, Delegate Gilbert, Senator Lucas, and Senator Norment each submitted a list of sixteen or more candidates chosen from the applicant pool. The final selection of citizen members, two from each of the four lists, was made by the Selection Committee, composed of five retired judges from the circuit courts of Virginia:

The Honorable Pamela Baskervill, Chair The Honorable Joanne F. Alper The Honorable William C. Andrews III The Honorable Larry B. Kirksey The Honorable David Pugh

In total, there are 16 members—eight citizen members and eight legislative members—on the Commission. The eight legislative members were selected by the majority and minority leadership of the House of Delegates and the Senate of Virginia as follows:

Appointed by Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn, Speaker of the House, Democrat: Delegate Delores L. McQuinn Delegate Marcus B. Simon Appointed by Delegate C. Todd Gilbert, House Minority Leader, Republican: Delegate Les R. Adams Delegate Margaret B. Ransone

Appointed by Senator L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore of the Senate, Democrat: Senator George L. Barker Senator Mamie E. Locke

Appointed by Senator Thomas K. Norment, Jr., Senate Minority Leader, Republican: Senator Ryan T. McDougle Senator Stephen D. Newman

The Virginia Redistricting Commission, created following the passage of an amendment to the Constitution of Virginia in the 2020 general election, will hold its first public meeting by February 1, 2021. The Commission is tasked with proposing plans for redrawing districts for the United States House of Representatives, the Senate of Virginia, and the House of Delegates. Upon receipt of 2020 census data, the Commission will begin its work to develop redistricting plans for proposal to the General Assembly.